Marist College Computer Society



"A hackathon is an event in which computer programmers and others in the field of software development, like graphic designers, interface designers and project managers collaborate intensively on software projects."

Graphical Explanation

The Hackathon Is On: Pitching and Programming the Next Killer App,
Steven Leckart, Wired, March 2012

The Marist College Computer Society hosts a Hackathon once per Fall and Spring semesters. Our Hackathons commence on a Friday evening with team building and finish Sunday afternoon with judging. Typically a good team size is anywhere between two and five people.

Spring 2013 | May 3 - 5

Sponsor: Morgan Stanley

Challenge: Create a Global Trading Placement Engine

1st Place Victors: Team Eat, Sleep, Code - Mary Miller, Zach Meath, Rob Rizzacasa

Tied 2nd Place Victors:

Team Brogrammers - Bob Nisco, Jason Parraga, Vin Raia

Team Midas - Andrew Spano, Stanley Yang, Antony Liang, Chris Ambrosia

Other Submissions:

Team Carrot Island Development Team - Anthony Barranco, Daniel DeNinno, Nicholas La Roux, Robert Whitaker

Team Cat with No Legs - Thomas Wojnar

Team Kronos - Travis Beatty , Michael Figueiredo, Brian Dones, Ryan Flaherty

Team Storgan Manley - Dan Miller, Colby Rabideau, Thomas Crescenzi


Fall 2012 | Nov 16 - 18

Sponsor: Marist College CS/ITS Faculty

Challenge: Create something that will enhance the lives of Marist students

Victors: Bob Nisco and Jason Parraga

Winning Project: ResNet Tracking - A revamped system for both students and ResNet employees to track CSRs/reports 

Other Submissions: 

Patty Alert by Colby Rabideau, Dan Miller, and Justin Svegliato

CUSP Assembly Registration System by Thomas Wojnar

Spring 2012

Sponsor: Etsy

Challenge: Create something using the Etsy API

Victors:  Colby Rabideau, Dan Miller, and Thomas Crescenzi

Winning Project:  Hipst-A-Graph - Check your hipster score with the Etsy api!

Other Submissions

Put A Bird On It by Greg Guida

Fall 2011

Sponsor: IBM

Challenge: Develop a Faculty of the Year voting system 

Victors: Colby Rabideau, Dan Miller, and Mike Rudden

Winning Project: Marist College Voting System

Other Submissions:


Related Information





Executive Board