Student Government Association


Meet the SGA Senate

Senate Speaker - Michael Johnson
Resident Senator - Sean McCaffery
Resident Senator - Danille Molé
Resident Senator - Andrew Paulsen
Commuter Senator - Chris Diamond
Commuter Senator - Rachel Mead
Class of 2011 President - Nicole Pernice
Class of 2012 President - James Napoli
Class of 2013 President - Paul DiBlasi
Class of 2014 President - Deborah Akinwunmi

Senate Speaker

Michael Johnson

Class of 2013


Michael Johnson is a sophomore from Montville, NJ and a Criminal Justicemajor currently serving as a member of the Marist Senate. In addition to acting as the Director of the Safety and Security Committee, Michael is also the Assistant Director of the St. Jude (Children's Research Hospital) Committee. He is often excited to hear back from his fellow Red Foxes and is always willing to help the student body with experience and jelly beans.

Resident Senator

Sean McCaffery

Class of 2013


Sean McCaffery serves as a Resident Senator for the Student Government Association. Sean is a sophomore from West Islip on Long Island.  Besides being involved with SGA, he is a member of Phi Delta Epsilon, LGSA, and Intramural Volleyball. Sean is currently a double major in Spanish and Biology.

Resident Senator

Danielle Mol é

Class of 2013


Danielle Mole serves on Student Government as a Resident Senator.  She is a Math Education major from Bethpage, Long Island.  At Marist, Danielle is an Orientation Leader, a Tour Guide, and a Student Assistant in the Admissions Office.  She especially enjoys participating in volleyball intramurals and the dance club.

Resident Senator - Speaker Pro Tempore

Andrew Paulsen

Class of 2012


Andrew Paulsen is a third-term resident senator hailing from Levittown, NY.  Andrew has worked on many campus issues before including Dining Services, Athletic Concerns, Mail Room Reform, and other pressing issues.  For more information, feel free to email Andrew.

Commuter Senator

Chris Diamond

Class of 2011


Commuter Senator

Rachel Mead

Class of 2011


Rachel Mead is currently a senior at Marist and serves on SGA as the commuter senator. Since last fall she has held the position and thoroughly enjoys meeting and working with fellow commuter students. Her major is Political Science and plans on going to graduate school for creative writing.

Class of 2011 President

Nicole Pernice

Class of 2011


Nicole Pernice is currently serving as the Class of 2011 President. She is from Marlboro, NJ and is majoring in Radio/TV/ Film and Public Relations with a minor in American Studies. In addition to being Senior Class President she is also the News Director of Marist College Television Station and the President of Lambda Pi Eta, the Communication Honors Society. She is looking forward to working with the Senior Class Gift Campaign in planning events and educating students on the importance of giving back to Marist College.

Class of 2012 President

James Napoli

Class of 2012


James Napoli is a junior at Marist College, hailing from West Islip, NY.  He serves as President of the Class of 2012 on Student Government, and he pursuing a double major in English Literature and Spanish. He is also a member of Marist college Singers and the Literary Arts Society.

Class of 2013 President

Paul DiBlasi

Class of 2013


Paul DiBlasi serves on Student Government as the Sophomore Class President.  Paul attended St. John’s Prep School, an all boys school on the North Shore in Massachusetts.  At Marist he is a Brother in Alpha Phi Delta and a member of three intramural teams.  Currently Paul is pursuing a degree in Business Administration with a focus in Finance and a minor in Accounting.

Class of 2014 President

Deborah Akinwunmi

Class of 2014